This is occasionally a thorn in my side

(does that expression come from Jesus being impaled in the ribs?)

Yes, the ‘This’ refers to this blog; I love writing this thing, but it is sometimes a pain in the arse: the daily wiring schedule, one I intend to keep for the foreseeable future, means I have to come up with a relatively interesting idea every day, explain it in reasonably clear terms, and include enough humorous links to YouTube videos to satisfy the Internet’s apparent constructive ideas to funny cat videos ratio (about 1:17).

The idea of inspiration is one that every creator of everything ever has had to deal with; either you’re a professional writer looking for an awesome idea for your next novel, or you’re a proverbial pimple on the face of art, trying to find a cool concept to launch yourself into the mainstream with, and explode in a great pus-filled explosion of disgustingly poor personal hygiene.

In both cases, finding a good idea is crucial, as this will allow you to explain what you think about the idea, have lots of evidence to support or oppose your view, and will be broad enough to be inclusive and relevant for a large number of readers; otherwise, you end up as a pigeon trapped in a hole no-one cares about.

However, fulfilling all these categories every day can be tough – in writing about blogs I’ve failed in the third criteria, as the majority of human beings do not, in fact, write blogs – and ignoring too many of them will leave the blog unpopular or of a poor quality.

Personally, my pursuit of these three categories can lead some of my posts to end up nonsensical, as I come up with an idea that fits two of the three, and then try to shoehorn some nonsense about how Bottles and Cups relate to everyone in all walks of life, which just doesn’t fit.

The idea of having to explain my ramblings also means that my blogs can be hard to read; last night, I didn’t finish the post until after ten (which is, seriously, my bed time – I drink no caffeine okay, I need eight hours of sleep a day) and so while its wasn’t sloppy in terms of spelling or anything, the ideas may have been more convoluted than they needed to be. This isn’t such a problem for relatively trivial topics like word counts, but for the more ‘intelligent’ pieces I’ve written, such as the Sports one, clarity of ideas could be argued to be more important than those ideas themselves.

It seems that, expectedly, writing every day is tiring to the extent of an imperfect writing style – I’ve even stopped proof-reading my posts with the same attention to detail I once did – a tiredness that’s only enforced by the selfish annoyance that is real life, which keeps happening while I’m trying to do important things like write blogs. Bloody reality.

Daily blogging is also made harder by evidencing my arguments; joking about linking to cat videos aside, an argument is invariably derived from real-world events and ideas, and it is the convincingness of that argument that the actual writing and explanation defines; today’s blog was inspired by my epiphany on the bus that, despite today being a Friday, I still had to go home and do a thing – this blog is nowhere near as much of a drag as homework, don’t worry, but being reminded of having a deadline to work towards can really make your fridays sad.

Also, examples are needed to justify everything I say; simply, I can’t really take the piss out of The Smiler without putting the horrific video in the post. The problem is that finding these things can be hard; for the post about loudness I wrote the other day, I wanted an analytical newspaper article about the growing culture of first world problems to remind people of the idiocy of the stuff I was writing about; I failed, and had to settle for a Telegraph article that was basically a list of them, a change which I feel undermined my argument in that post.

All this makes it seem like daily blogging is an awful, God-forsaken practice attempted by sadists and emo teens who want to self-harm and improve their writing ability simultaneously. This may be true, but I love doing it; firstly, having a deadline for things makes you work to finish them – a schedule of uploading every day means that I have to sit down and write for an hour instead of playing Madden. Although I like writing, I also like playing Madden, and in terms of sheer mind-resting enjoyment, EA’s handegg masterpiece has gotta come first. Sorry guys.

Also, writing daily means that I am doing constructive things daily; I’ve noticed that, over summer, my brain kinda melts into a stew that looked a bit like the swiss roll cake thing they made on The Great British Bake-Off a few weeks back, if I’m not actively writing and producing content to back up the reading I’m doing.

The awesome Dysfunctional Literacy said that reading is that they read best when tired, and write best when alert, and I agree; I’d argue that reading is fundamentally a passive actively, regardless of the level one does it to, and so does not keep your mind active in the same way that writing does.

Ultimately, doing constructive things regularly is the way to improve your mind, and ‘constructive’ differs from person to person; if you wanna be a doctor, read medical journals every day, and if you wanna be a writer, write every day! Although it’s hard sometimes to come up with eloquent and interesting judgements every day, the motivation to not break my streak of almost three weeks of doing this now serves as a reminder to keep writing and keep improving my own style every day. And so, I shall stick to daily blogging.

Oh, just to provide the most annoying contrast between two ideas than the entirety of the Cold War, I need to tell you that the blog will be on holiday for a week, from Monday 28th October to Monday 4th November as I will be finishing the Duke Of Edinburgh’s Award all week, and getting lost and killed in Wales in the process. I’ll probably talk about that when I get back.

Links:

Dysfunctional Literacy (the first blog I followed on here. D’awwww)

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

