Literary Insults!

(this post should totally have been my entire personal statement for my University application)

– Girl, sex with you is like The Inferno; it gets progressively tighter, sorer and more depressing the further down I go.

– You’re more unknown than the singing in The Lord of the Rings books.

– Hey, your kid reminds me of Yeats’ poetry: ‘A terrible beauty is born’.

– ‘Romeo, Romeo, wherefore art thou?’ Screwing your mum.

– Your body’s just like Middlemarch: really fat.

– You’re so inbred – you have more fingers than there are divisions within the Eighth Circle of Hell.

– My love for you is like Raskolnikov’s self-reflection: it can only ever exist with imprisonment and despair.

– If Dorian Gray is the ideal of the aesthetic, you must be the ideal of the blind aesthetic.

– You’re such a pain to be around that even Frankenstein’s monster wouldn’t want to be with you.

– I love your tweets, they’re just like conversations in Huck Finn: full of incredibly racist ideas and written in horrifically broken English.

– You’re so old even Lear thinks you should give up your powers to ‘younger strengths’ and ‘unburdened crawl toward death’.

– Imposing The Party’s system on our society would make absolutely no difference to the number of intelligent ideas you have.

– Girl, even under her pen name, George Eliot was more feminine than you are.

– You’re just like the sequel to Dracula: totally unnecessary.

– Boy, you’d make a perfect thral for me.

– A long-term relationship with you is like Harry Potter: overrated as Hell.

– Sex with you is like reading The Great Gatsby: over in five seconds and depressingly unsatisfying to finish.

– You’re so dumb that you go beneath the surface, even at your own peril.

– Your life has less depth to it than Dorian Gray’s.

– You’re so stupid you probably think ‘zed’ isn’t an ‘unnecessary letter’.

14 thoughts on “Literary Insults!

      1. Well, for my high school English program, I read 25-50 books each year in addition to everything I read for pleasure. Plus, I grew up near “the South” in the U.S. It is THE book for that region. It is very melodramatic and depressing.

          1. I LOVE to read, so I choose it over other things. Now, with everything else I do, I read about 30-50 books a year. I read a mixture of trash fiction, children’s fiction, decent fiction, classics, poetry and nonfiction. I read on the subway, I read when I should be studying, and I read almost every Friday night instead of going out. Also, I read about 750 wpm which helps with the whole time thing.

            1. I write about everything I read, so reading becomes kinda hard on public transport. It also took me about an hour to read ten pages of Middlemarch, which I presume would be substantially less than 750 words a minute.

            2. Maybe I do it all wrong, but I always read a whole book before I write about it (if I choose to do so). I can’t analyze or pick up on details the first time through. I am a chronic re-reader of anything I felt was worthwhile the first time through.

              Also, short stories are my favorite to read on public transportation because I can finish one before the end of the trip which means I won’t read and walk through the station.

            3. I write as I read because close language analysis is so much easier hat way, which I find is the most interesting part of books. That way, reading through old notes reminds me of specific bits of language, which I can use to derive meaning from later, so I’ll often end up having different ideas about books as I re-read notes. I guess the way you’d re-read an entire novel.

              This is why I won’t go to Cambridge – they don’t really care for close analysis, which is what I really like and am better at.

            4. I’ve only got notes on Inferno and Middlemarch. It’s a recent thing I’m trying, to great success. Although I’ll probably get through at least Purgatory by new year and maybe start on Paradise Lost

              My handwriting is shocking bad though.

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

