Oops

(oh the pain of blogging)

I often write posts in my free periods at school; now that I have about three hours of them a day to work, I have easily enough time to get actual work done, before writing these things. I also often bring my iPod to school, which contains a note with around thirty or so blog ideas that I can draw on for inspiration. As you might have guessed, today, my iPod is at home.

This wasn’t a mistake, but a conscious decision; normally I bring my iPod to listen to music on buses, but this requires the bringing of headphones to school, which then means I need to have space in my bag to keep them during lessons: no space today, so no headphones, so no iPod.

This is troubling because I know there are a bunch of good ideas on that iPod that I would be able to write about, but now I can’t because I don’t remember them; most of the ideas are crappy, simple ones, such as a post about post, a means of communication exactly zero people use any more, but there were a few at least apparently interesting ideas on there.

So now I can’t write about them, and I equally don’t want to force it; I’m not going to try to come up with a ‘good’ idea on the spot, and spend hours slaving over this ‘idea’, because the inspiration for ‘good’ posts comes from epiphanies and real-life experiences. Just because I thought I’d write intelligently this morning doesn’t mean I have to force myself to do so five hours later, if the means to do so is not there.

This raises another question that I’ve long been thinking about: how much longer can I write these every day? If inspiration is based on random experiences and off-the-wall thoughts, what if I go through a month with no intelligent ideas (which, if it did happen, would probably screw my life over in ways more meaningful than the content of this blog).

I have thirty or so ideas on that iPod, of which four are solid, and a further thirty on a sticky note at home and, again, about four or five are good ideas. The rest are tolerable, but too many of them will probably render this blog boringly simple.

Therefore, I feel I have a bank of about two months’ worth of ‘emergency posts’ stored up; some of those ideas have been on that sticky note since I started this blog, because I will only use up one of these if I cannot think of anything else to write that day. Admittedly, posts about Women or Authority were on the iPod as ‘good ideas’, but so was the Fire Hazard post, which was a stop-gap I threw in that day because I didn’t have any more intelligent ideas.

Obviously this notion of ‘intelligent’ posts is pretty irrelevant; from watching extensive recent Charlie McDonnell videos, I accept that the value and worth of a piece of content is derived from its reception by its audience, not from its creator. I placed great value on the Wordsdays series, but I stopped doing it because no-one else cared, and I think the Pro Tips format is less sophisticated, but they are among my best viewed and liked.

So perhaps the distinction between ‘good’ and ‘bad’ ideas is flawed, but it’s a distinction that helps me write this thing; I get satisfaction from thinking I’ve written an ‘intelligent’ post, and I am comforted by the fact that I have a supply of stop-gap ideas to write about every day if I need to (the point of this blog has always been to encourage me to write stuff regularly). And anything that makes this whole blogging thing easier is a good thing, even if such divisions aren’t even noticed by those who read it. But I don’t think I should have to worry about running out of ideas any time soon: I just wrote a post about not being able to write about posts for God’s sake.

Oh, and don’t expect some barnstorming philosophical piece tomorrow, when I remember to bring my iPod to school; it’s very likely that I’ll dismiss those four ‘good’ ideas as stupid as soon as I get home. I change very quickly like that sometimes.

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

