I Only Believe In Bad Luck

(so come at me, black cats!)

I do believe in luck, as I feel that there are events whose occurrences may be a 50/50, but inevitably work for some people, and not for others. However, I define luck as these accidental and unconscious benefits, firmly believing in the ‘you make your own luck’ argument – someone may always get lucky in not falling over in the snow, because they choose to wear sensible shoes and run, and so have stronger legs, compared to someone else walking on ground of the same instability.

And this idea of luck being self-created is important, as many people define ‘luck’ as random chance, influenced by some higher power, from an abstract concept like ‘justice’ to an equally distant religious figure such as a god. Essentially, I feel that putting faith in what I call ‘blind luck’ (regular old ‘luck’ to most people) breeds unluckiness, as you’re putting faith in distance and vague concepts which will let you down, and not in the practical attributes of yourself and the environment around you that actually make a difference.

However, I don’t want to use the argument of ‘luck’ to disprove the existence of a god or anything; I am simply saying that we can influence our own luck to a greater practical extent by adapting ourselves to our environment than by blind faith, at least in my experience.

Part of this stems from an internal selfishness, that I am uncomfortable with the idea of anyone having greater control over my own life than myself; people can obviously help me with my life, but any long-term improvements, or short-term decisions, must come from me, and I feel it is risky to have total confidence in anything other than myself.

Obviously, the example of luck refers to things like shoe-laces coming untied, and stepping in puddles when I can’t see the pavement at night, and nothing more profound, a scale that might also impact my lack of faith in luck or a higher power: putting well-known rhetoric aside, it is difficult to think that anyone or anything other than myself cares about the state of my shoe-laces; I didn’t care about them until a few months ago when I bought my first pair of shoes with laces (slip-ons all the way, baby).

And don’t try to tell me that believing hard enough in luck, or carrying vast quantities of upright horse-shoes, will make a difference; in my experience, faith in anything other than myself has failed spectacularly. Even a partial belief in myself has screwed me over; I ended up re-sitting all of my Year Ten exams because I started hanging out with friends, rather than working hard to build up a strong faith in my own exam-owning skills.

There is also a broader problem, that believing in the intangible, luck, to influence the tangible, reality. I’m not saying that luck has no bearing on reality, but I’m munch more likely to avoid puddle-stepping if I look where I’m walking than if I avoid the undersides of ladders.

And too much of this confidence could be dangerous, if we start relying on that which we cannot directly control instead of that which we can, if anything because you can always say you can improve yourself in the future, but you’re unlikely to improve the concept of luck.

Overall, I reckon that faith in any sort of luck is a bit of a cop-out, and will inevitably, and perhaps ironically, lead to bad luck, as we prioritise confidence in the abstract or the uncontrollable, over things that we know impact us and we can actively change.

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

