One Down

(the US joined the G7 in 1974 in response to the 1973 OPEC Crisis)

I’m now halfway through my exam-based Day of Doom™, having finished an English exam this morning (it went pretty well, picked a question no-one else did because talking about women is way too mainstream), and waiting for a History one in literally an hour (oh God, an hour is not a long period of time), and I’m feeling expectedly unintelligent right now; unlike Jacobean dramas, real exam-induced madness does not give great insight into the human condition of our society, it just makes us tired and grouchy.

And I have evidence for this: after the English exam, we had an English lesson, in which the amount of work done was approximately equal in size, and appropriately in quality, to four millilitres of ink flicked at a page in a particularly unconstructive manner.

Of course, I’m not making this any easier on myself; with 56 minutes to go, I’m not letting my brain recover, revising the end of the Cold War (the US joined the G7 in 1974 in response to the 1973 OPEC Crisis), or even just having lunch to ensure that I’m not going into the exam having not eaten in seven hours. Nope, I’m writing a blog post about how I shouldn’t be writing a blog post, so if I get a C in this afternoon’s exam, blame this blog. And also you, for reading it; an unread post is like the ignored ravings of a madman, but viewers add legitimacy to a post, showing that I have prioritised entertaining individuals in Kenya over a mock exam that is a key indicator of my ultimate exam success or failure. So thanks for that.

I’m also fluctuating between ill-begotten overconfidence and suicide-inducing feelings of unpreparedness; every time I stop writing this, my mind flicks to a historical statistic (the US joined the G7 in 1974 in response to the 1973 OPEC Crisis) that gives me a bit of confidence, only for the singularity and repetition of that fact (the US joined the G7 in 1974 in response to the 1973 OPEC Crisis) to screw me over again: I know about the OPEC Crisis, why can’t I come up with other figures?

I think my fear is because the outcome of lot of essay-exams are based on your performance in the exam itself; GCSE Geography was a ‘rote-learn-a-thousand-facts-to-get-an-A*-fest’ (the fastest-flowing part of a river’s cross-section is a thalweg) but A2 History is about using and manipulating those figures: my knowledge of OPEC will be worthless if I can’t fit it into a coherent argument. And coherency is not my strong point right now, as the repetition of italicised brackets, indicative of my erratic subconscious, indicates; Hell, I can’t even be original at this point, which is worrying when it comes to constructing an interesting and creative argument – the italicised brackets are stolen from Stephen King’s The Dark Tower series for God’s sake.

And I just spent half an hour getting distracted by The Guardian and talking about that English exam with people who didn’t do the same exam as me, so we should theoretically have nothing to talk about. I’m done for now – I’ll go have lunch and revise for a bit. Coherency might resume tomorrow, I’m not making any promises.

(the US joined the G7 in 1974 in response to the 1973 OPEC Crisis)

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

