Check Out My New Blog!

(yes that was an imperative. And what?)

Fans of me (and all the assorted crap and drivel that I bring) rejoice; I’m starting a new blog! The blog will be called the Zone Of Proximal Development, and is a collaborative blog between myself and my friends and fellow bloggers Bradley and Izzy. The basic format is a conversation, where we each get one day a week (I’m on Mondays, Izzy on Wednesdays, and Bradley on Fridays), and the job of each blogger is to respond to the ideas and topics of the previous post, and suggest new concepts that the following blogger can build on. I’m opening it up tomorrow, as it is the first Monday of the month, with an idea that I will choose (i.e. I’ve not got anything yet), and Izzy and Bradley’s, and then my next, posts will riff on the ideas I mention. Each month, we’llĀ start with a new idea and switch up the order, to keep the discussion fresh and give each of us a go at starting a discussion.

I can’t totally speak for Izzy and Bradley, because I’m not them, but I think I’m right in saying this blog is to help motivate them to write regularly, with the threat of letting down other people apparently being a bigger issue than the threat of letting down oneself. But we’re all getting a conversational benefit out of this; it’s not that your lovely comments aren’t appreciated, but I think we’ll be able to have more of a discussion when the blog is based around a conversation, rather than the majority of mosts (both on our blogs and on the Internet in general) that get belched out into the aether never to be seen again – we’ll have to communicate often with this blog, which is a good thing.

Also, for those keeping score, I’m about 6,000 words into my novel on NaNoWriMo, and the first day’s wiring – 4,500 words – was much easier and more natural than today’s 1,500 words, because I only have a premise, not a plot, for my novel, and so we get farther from the initial scene-setting, and more into actual narrative events, I start to tread water; new, plot device-heavy characters are emerging!

So read the ZPD if you want, and don’t if you don’t want to, but just be aware this is a thing I’m quite excited about, so if there’s a sudden decline in the quality and length of posts on Monday, that’ll be why.

The Zone Of Proximal Development

Bradley’s Blog

Izzy’s Blog

11 thoughts on “Check Out My New Blog!

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

