Photo Blogging

(phlogging? I think that’s a portmanteau too far)

I’m going on holiday tomorrow; after visiting glamorous Ireland last week, I’m jetting (except with a train) down to the south coast (of England) for a trip to sexy Bexhill (very much the Monte Carlo of northern Europe). And having discovered, much to my surprise, that taking the occasional picture of a thing I’m doing might not necessarily make me a self-centred bastard, I think I’ll take some photos of the trip, and upload them here. Specifically, one photo a day, for the four days I’m away (Wednesday to Sunday).

Part of this is honestly so that I can take a break; I’m becoming increasingly obsessed with uploading 365 posts this year, and this allows me to continue my pointless yet upsettingly important streak without having to engage my brain too much: I have exams in almost exactly a month, and while I don’t intend to suspend the blog for their sake, it’d be nice to not have to worry about writing about non-Beowulf things for a bit. But honestly, I think you guys might be getting tired of me. I don’t blame you, I link to this thing on Facebook every day, to the point that my friends are definitely sick of me, but in rereading some recent posts I’m realising that my style of ‘humour’ (such as it is) is a bit of a one-trick pony – once you’ve read one of my posts, you’ve kinda read them all, save for a few more thoughtful ones on gender or something.

This is part of a wider overhaul of this blog; this Summer I plan to change my writing style, having come to the realisation that I’m getting rather good at writing rambling, self-centred blog posts, but 500 of them later I struggle to write anything else, like university essays, or exams. I want to write in a shorter, punchier style, like I used to when I was powering through exam essays back at AS, which will honestly take quite a conscious effort, which is why I’m delaying the change until after exams and whatnot. I also want to make this blog less me-centred; there’s that Poll button at the top of the writer I’ve ignored for a year and a half now, and even long comment threads on some of these posts are based entirely on what I want to talk about, like I’m a god deciding what is appropriate for discussion on the hallowed pages of jamespatrickcasey.wordpress.com, whereas in reality the communal bit of this site has been the main reason I’ve stuck at this for so long.

It’ll start with pictures, then maybe suggestions for posts or series, more collaborative stuff outside the ZPD, and a greater engagement with things like awards and groups on WordPress; it’s taken me almost two years, but I’ll finally start treating this social network masquerading as a writing platform as such, instead of a soapbox for me to selfishly bitch about things, expect people to read it and love it, then get confused and upset when they don’t.

But first – shitty holiday snaps.

7 thoughts on “Photo Blogging

  1. But..but..in regards to the future plans, there will be a little bit of space for the long James Patrick Casey blog posts right?

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

