2,500 Words A Day

(*grabs ink and quill*)

Remember when I vowed to finish my current novel before I head back to university in September? Like four days ago? Well I’m realising the key obstacle to completing this quest: based on the amount I’ve written and the amount that is left to right, and comparing these figures to the length of time I have left before mid-September, and the need for a few weeks of editing, I have calculated I will need to write 2,500 words a day, every day, for the next two months.

This is a lot for a guy who failed NaNoWriMo by like half the target.

But I shall not falter! I’ve written my 2,500 words for today and I’ve only been up for like eight hours. But, more importantly than that, it felt good to write those 2,500 words. Having started a series of novels with insanely ambitious narratives, and promptly giving up or shelved them indefinitely, I know too well how hard it is to get back to writing if you take a break for too long. Or how tedious writing becomes when you realise that you’ve been plugging away for three hours, and a combination of your perfectionism and procrastination has left you with 351 words and a bold-faced title to show for it.

Actually writing, however, has helped me like the characters and world I’ve created, as opposed to seeing them as a series of outlines I have in my head to mechanically fill in by writing the damn thing. Because I’ve planned this novel out in meticulous detail, writing it becomes more obligation than creation if I were to do it sporadically, and I only had the skeleton of events and characters in my plan to work with. The more I write, however, the more organic the characters become, and, almost paradoxically, the more flexibility I have to deviate a little from the outline because I know who my characters are and what they’re doing, by virtue of engaging with them more often. I’m less reliant on the notes I wrote months ago, and I’m enjoying writing way more as a result.

Now I just have to keep it up for another two months.

3 thoughts on “2,500 Words A Day

  1. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll do great 🙂 I’d love to read it, once it’s finished.
    Just think. Approximately 75000 more words written in the next month!

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

