50,000 Words Done!

(technically it’s 52,000 if you count the planning sheets…)

I may have mentioned, a while ago, that I’m trying to write a novel by the time I go back to uni in late September. I have no idea how long it’ll be in terms of words, and my plan to write 2,500 words a day back in July was based on basically a guess of how long this thing would actually be, but I’ve hit a milestone on this indefinitely long path; I’ve written 50,000 words.

This is already my longest project by far, being over ten times the length of my longest essay, and double the size of my failed NaNoWriMo novel, and it feels awesome. I feel like the project, regardless of its actual quality, is starting to resemble a novel in its form, rather than being the first bit of a novel, or a prologue, as my previous stories have always petered out as. And that’s important; quality is subjective, and whether I’m a ‘successful’ novelist in the future will depend on a thousand people’s criteria and a million judgements of those criteria, and it all becomes a bit much really. But the question of whether I ‘am’ a novelist is a much simpler one: Have I Written A Novel?

And this story isn’t finished, and might suck when it is done, and may even never be published; but I want to be a writer, and I’m 50,000 words closer to having a valid claim to that most economically vacuous and culturally irrelevant title.

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

