Check out The Game Shelf!

(pretty please)

The Game Shelf

I start a lot of projects, many of which never see the light of day, and many more get off the ground then fall flat on their face. But my latest endeavour is honestly the one I’ve been most proud of since I took a tentative step towards writing seriously by registering the domain ‘jamepatrickcasey.wordpress.com’ on this site. This newest project is called The Game Shelf, a gaming magazine operated by myself and four of my friends – a mate from home, this flame-haired hero, a medic with more physical ailments than hours of free time, and a buddy who came paintballing with me once. Our emphasis will be on critical approaches to games, using our powers as pretentious university students to debate the artistic merits of Until Dawn or the economic nose-dives of the GameCube, but I’ll be involved so I’ll try to keep us all off our high horses for the most part.

I don’k like bluntly plugging things to people; the ever-wise Charlie McDonnell once said that there are two ways of telling people to engage with and share your stuff – tell them to ‘like this video lol’ or produce something of quality so people want to share it on their own terms – and I’m a much bigger fan of the latter. But this project isn’t just another notch in my blogging belt, but is something that could be a big step towards my life’s professional dream, to write about games as a career. This project isn’t just a hobby, but could well become my life, so I’m going to be a little more aggressive with my shouted plugs this time.

So please check out The Game Shelf, even if gaming isn’t your bag – you could learn something new, or find a new site to recommend to your mate who spends eighteen hours a day playing Destiny. Any engagement with the site, either views, comments or shares, would seriously mean the world to me, and, on the eve of my six hundredth post on this blog, I’d like to say thanks to all of you for making me feel like a writer, letting me feel I have things worth saying, and giving me the confidence to do what I want to do with my life.

That life may consist of applying feminist criticism to Mario Kart games, but it’s a life I’m going to chase.

Leave a comment if you want to prove you're human

